Naresh Bansal will be the new RS MP from Uttarakhand after Raj Babber’s term expires on 9th November

The Rajya Sabha tenure of Bollywood turned Rajya Sabha member of parliament n former Uttar Pradesh president of Congress Raj Babber is coming to an end on 9th of November and the last date of filing of nomination is 27 th October. The central election committee of Bhartiya Janata Party has finally recommended the name of the Senior leader n the vice chairman of twenty point programme committee Naresh Bansal today. The BJP presently has one Rajya Sabha MP from Uttarakhand namely Anil Baluni and the Congress Pradeep Tamta. The BJP has the strength of 57 lawmakers in Uttarakhand assembly with the Congress with thirteen MLAs. Therefore the victory of the BJP candidate is a foregone conclusion. Earlier the Uttarakhand BJP has recommended the names of former CM Vijay Bahuguna, BJP’s office secretary Mahendra Pandey, former MP Balraj Passi, Party,’s treasurer Anil Goyal n the Vice chairman of twenty point programme committee Naresh Bansal to the central election committee to nominate the candidate for the RS seat. The party has finally recommended the name of Naresh Bansal dashing all the hopes of the Uttarakhand former CM Vijay Bahuguna who was expecting to get the ticket. His sister Rita Bahuguna is MP from Allahabad n had been the cabinet minister in Yogi Adityanath ‘s cabinet earlier. Similarly the BJP’s central election committee has finalised eight names for Uttar Pradesh Rajya Sabha seats as below. The saffron party has a strength of 325 MLAs in UP with APNA Dal. It may be recalled that former Uttarakhand CM Vijay Bahuguna had defected to BJP in 2017 revolting against the leadership of the then CM Harish Rawat alongwith eleven rebel Congress MLAs and was quite optimistic of being rewarded by getting elected from Uttarakhand as the Rajya Sabha MP. Congress Rajya Sabha MP Raj Babber after being elected from Uttarakhand never turned to the hilly state nor raised any of its burning issues in the upper house annoying one and all n was appointed as the state president who resigned after the shameful defeat of the party at the hands of the saffron party.


Sunil Negi

Sunil Negi is a senior journalist and president of Uttarakhand Journalists Forum ( Regd). He usually writes on socio political subjects and have been contributing articles in print media for the last several years. Mr. Sunil Negi had been felicitated by All India Achievers conference's Pride of India and excellence awards apart from several other recognitions. He has translated a book on ecological disaster of Uttarakhand of June 2013 and edited and published two editions of Uttaranchal's Who's Who.

Related Articles

Back to top button